First!

It it weird that I can spawn apples?

He said to his friend, Rachel. Rachel looked Scott strangely.

“What do you mean, you can spawn apples?” she asked. Then an apple appeared in Scott’s hand.

“I mean what I said. I can make apples appear and I want to know if that’s weird.” He took a bite of the apple. “I’ve always been able to do this. I’ve always hid it though. Pretended to always have apples in my backpack, when really I was just spawning them when my hand was in the bag.”

“And you’re telling me this because… why?” Rachel inquired. Scott took another bite of his apple and chewed it very slowly, preparing his response. After what seemed like an eternity, Scott finally gave his answer.

“I wanted to tell you my secret because… I’ve been wanting you to know… that…” Scott trailed off and glanced down at his feet. Rachel began to wonder what it is he’s was trying to say.

There is no way… just no way… she thought to herself. She started to feel her heart beat faster and faster.

“Rachel, I… I wanted to tell you my secret because I know you have one too!” Scott blurted out. Rachel took a step backwards, astonished.

“But there is no way you could know! How did you find out?!” Rachel exclaimed.

“I’ve been watching you. I’ve seen you make flowers bloom, and you rot the fruits of the people you don’t like in the cafeteria. I’ve seen you make the strawberries in your lunch bigger. Little things like that.” He rubbed the back of his head sheepishly.

“Wow… um… I guess I’m kind of flattered that you noticed those things?” Rachel was still very unsure of the whole situation. “Is there anything else you want to tell me, while we’re baring our souls here?” Scott chuckled and nodded.

“I think… I think we could be superheros. I would be your sidekick, you would be the hero. We can practice with our powers and learn to do amazing things!” He said excitedly. “We could help so many people!”

“With fruits and veggies?” Rachel crossed her arms. “What would we do, throw big apples at robbers and then get shot? Bad idea!”

“Oh no, I’m not talking about fighting crime.”

“Then… what are you trying to say we should do?”

“I want to help families get fresh produce. Now I can only spawn apples, but what if I learn to spawn other things, like lettuce and blueberries? And you could make them grow big, and we could take them to people who can’t get healthy food! We could solve hunger!” Scott smiled. “Whaddya say?”

Rachel nodded. “Let’s do this thing.”

Leave a Reply

